Home > Uncategorized > First Impression of Google Chrome

First Impression of Google Chrome

September 2, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Google Chrome.  It’s new, it’s different, it’s fast, it’s simple, it’s clean, it’s functional.

So far, in the couple hours or so I’ve used Google’s new browser, I love it.

Here are the things I like about Chrome:

  • the find (Ctrl+F) shows how many matches it found in the page, and which one you’re on (for example, 1 of 2)
  • the New Tab page, which shows all kinds of goodies, like most visited pages, search history, recent bookmarks, and recently closed tabs
  • the JavaScript virtual machine makes JavaScript run faster
  • the “address” bar (which is so much more) that offers suggestions for searches, web history, and addresses
  • the ability to drag tabs into a new window
  • incognito mode – the name is great (the idea is cool too)
If you want to know more about it, read the features page.  Watch the videos.  Download it.  Try it out.
  1. Andrew P
    September 3, 2008 at 11:45 am

    I have only spent an hour or two using it so far. I agree that it seems pretty cool. I personally really like the idea behind the JavaScript virtual machine since I do a lot with JavaScript. The developer tools are also pretty neat (the JavaScript debugger, task manager, etc…). I use firebug and the web developer toolbar in firefox, and it seems like Chrome may put a lot of that functionality in the browser by default.

    We’ll have to see how it turns out, because right now it is very bare bones. I don’t think it’s going to take over the internet in the next month or anything, but it is very cool and I look forward to seeing what becomes of it.

  2. Legaia
    September 3, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    All of the above with one exception. While I like the highlighting with Ctrl+F, I really REALLY miss “find as you type” combined with the cursor, that you can do in Firefox. Basically, you can type “Log in” and you have navigated a link, instead of having to mouse around to it. For internal corporate websites (mmm I’m sure you guys have never run into those) it always seems they have poor navigation, where you have to drudge through 2-5 pages before you get to what you really wanted. Here’s the feature request thread, if anyone else is interested:

    http://groups.google.com/group/google-chrome-help-suggestions/browse_thread/thread/11e8da5ebb428a55/f39efacd1276cf78?hl=en#f39efacd1276cf78

  3. September 3, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    It’s wicked Fast!!! I can’t get over that!

    I hope the add the ability to create gadgets for it like FF. I miss my GMAIL and YAHOO notifiers.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

