Home > Uncategorized > Unsolicited LinkedIn Recommendations

Unsolicited LinkedIn Recommendations

December 11, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Inspired by Gayle’s post, I wrote an unsolicited LinkedIn recommendation a few days ago. I found one of my previous managers on LinkedIn and just decided to recommend him. He was a great manager/architect/tech lead, so he deserved it. I wasn’t looking to get anything from it – I just thought he’d appreciate it, and I was hoping to make his day (or at least his evening, or hour, or something). I’m not sure how he reacted.

A friend and I were discussing this, and he told me he wouldn’t want an unsolicited recommendation.  I never asked why – maybe he thought I would expect some sort of payback.  Hopefully he’ll speak up in the comments.  ;)

I, on the other hand, would love to get an unsolicited recommendation on LinkedIn.  I’d be really excited about it (especially since LinkedIn keeps showing me that my profile is only 80% complete).  And I think it would motivate me to pay it forward by recommending someone else.  And pretty soon, everyone would have a recommendation…

So how would you react if someone gave you an unexpected recommendation on LinkedIn? Would you be thankful, excited, appreciative? Or would you wonder why they recommended you (maybe they’re trying to get something from you…)? Would you think it was a waste that they wrote it now, when you’re not even looking for a new job? Would you wish they had waited until the right time?

Tags:
  1. December 12, 2008 at 9:58 am

    I think unsolicited recommendations on LinkedIn are terrific – assuming they’re honest and somewhat specific. “He’s a great guy” isn’t much of a recommendation, unsolicited or not.

  2. December 12, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    I’d feel pretty good getting an unsolicited LinkedIn recommendation. I think it would be cool to think that someone thought of me when I least expected it. And don’t think it would be wasted if I wasn’t looking for a job then, b/c I those recommendations stay on there, they don’t expire. So it would still be there if/when I was looking for a job in the future. And for that matter, if the public can see those time/date stamps, it’s probably better that the date is from awhile ago, not “oh look, this person got a lot of recommendations right about the time they started looking for a job” – on the contrary, that would be suspicious. :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

