Home > Uncategorized > Liferay Portal is pretty snazzy

Liferay Portal is pretty snazzy

I’m a big fan of technologies I can play with quickly, without having to journey to Mordor or wave dead chickens over glyphs in the sand. Basically, I hate setting up environments. I had this running quickly. Yay for me.

I’m sitting in the evening COJUG (Central Ohio Java User Group) session given by Ayan Dave of Quick Solutions on the Liferay Portal product. I almost didn’t come. Virtually every developer I know that’s worked on a portal project hated it. I think some of them even had the project scrapped.

I hear “portal” and I want to run the other way.

But I’m being brave tonight. Luckily, it was free and very simple to get started with Liferay Portal. It comes prepackaged with one of many choices of servers. I chose Tomcat.

I started up the instance of Tomcat and opened my browser to http://localhost:8080/

A login screen. I created my own account but didn’t seem to have permissions to do anything… went back to the getting started guide (link above) to find I could log in as test@liferay.com with a password of test… that seemed to give me admin privileges.

In no time I could drag and drop the couple of default widgets. That was kinda gratifying.

At the top-right is a dropdown menu. Select Add Application. You’ll get a nice selection of already developed portlets. I chose Finance > Stocks. Played around with it. Pretty stinking cool.

Try it out yourself. Have fun!

Thanks to Ayan for presenting at COJUG tonight.

PS – I also had cake tonight. The cake is not a lie!

  1. April 8, 2013 at 6:43 pm

    Hi there colleagues, pleasant article and pleasant arguments commented here,
    I am actually enjoying by these.

  1. December 31, 2009 at 3:17 pm

Leave a Reply

