Home > Java, Maven > Java 6 and Maven on Mac OS X Leopard

Java 6 and Maven on Mac OS X Leopard

This morning I was having problems with Java and Maven on my Mac. I had my JAVA_HOME set to /Library/Java/Home, which was pointing to Java 6. When I ran mvn -v, Maven told me it was pointing to Java 5. I couldn’t figure out what was wrong because running java -version showed me Java 6.

The solution, which I found in this post, was to set my JAVA_HOME to the actual place where Java is installed, which is something like:

/System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Versions/1.6/Home

This worked for me, but YMMV.

Tags: , ,
  1. August 23, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    It is because of the way you upgrade. The correct way:
    http://memerocket.com/2009/08/06/upgrade-os-x-10-5-8-to-jdk-1-6/

  2. jack
    September 7, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    very nice info…let me add my 2 cents to this blog by sharing a really good resource of mac applications at http://appslog.com/blog/1-blog/820-huge-list-of-very-useful-mac-applications.html

    they have hosted a huge list for mac users.

  1. December 31, 2009 at 3:17 pm

Leave a Reply

